Log in

West Virginia Association of
Student Financial Aid Administrators

Committed to making Higher Education a reality in West Virginia

Log in

MASFAA State Leadership Award

The MASFAA State Leadership Award is presented annually to recognize the outstanding leadership of a member from each of the 9 states within MASFAA. The recipients, who must be current MASFAA members, must have made outstanding contributions to the financial aid profession at the state and regional levels over a sustained period of time, i.e., seven years or more. Leadership at the regional level is not the only criterion for this award, and the selection process will not be limited to current state elected leaders. The individuals selected for this award must: exhibit high integrity and character; have shown creative leadership; have inspired and encouraged others to participate actively in professional development activities; have sustained active involvement in professional organizations and have supported the goals and objectives of MASFAA.  No awards were given in 2020 due to COVID 19 pandemic.

2023  Illinois: Timothy Marten 
   Indiana: Nathan Lohr
   Iowa: Brandi Miller
   Michigan: Alisha Cederberg
   Missouri: Emily Haynam
   Minnesota: Anne Dahlen
   Ohio: Carrie Short
   West Virginia: Lake Tackett
   Wisconsin: Karie Cunningham
 2022  Illinois: Laura Rogers
   Indiana: Alex DeLonis
   Iowa: Renae Armentrout
   Michigan: Stephanie Bogard-Trapp
   Missouri: Dena Norris
   Minnesota: Carolyn Cheesebrough (in memoriam)
   Ohio: Melanie Weaver
   West Virginia: Chester Priest
   Wisconsin: Heidi Johnson
2021  Illinois: Karen LeVeque
   Indiana: Martin Case
   Iowa: Beth Davenport
   Michigan: Steven Foster
   Missouri: Keri Gilbert
   Ohio: Melissa Van Meter
   West Virginia: Katie Cooper
   Wisconsin: Kevin McShane
 2019  Illinois: Maureen "Mo" Amos
   Indiana: Ben Burton
   Iowa: Gary Adams
   Michigan: Jo Cassar
   Minnesota: Carolyn Chesebrough
   Missouri: Amy Hager
   Ohio: Betsy Johnson
   West Virginia: Carla Strawn
   Wisconsin: Derek Kindle
2018  Illinois: Michelle Cornell
   Indiana: Maralee Clayton
   Iowa: Chris Ditter
   Michigan: Shashanta James
   Minnesota: Gayle Yamry
   Missouri: Gena Boling
   Ohio: Jayme Jarrett
   Wisconsin: Susan Johnson
 2017  Illinois: Michelle Stipp
   Indiana: Melinda Middleton
   Iowa: Jennifer Schroeder
   Michigan: Val Meyers
   Minnesota: Brittany Tweed
   Missouri: Charles "Buddy" Mayfield
   Ohio: Erica Henry
   Wisconsin: Keyimani Alford
 2016  Illinois: Mary Shaw
   Indiana: Ted Malone
   Iowa: Jennifer Sassman
   Michigan: Krissy Bhaumik
   Minnesota: Chris Parker
   Missouri: Crystal Bruntz
   Ohio: Emily Haynam
   West Virginia: Kathy Bialk
   Wisconsin: Sara Beth Holman
 2015  Illinois: Jana Albrecht
   Indiana: Thomas Ratliff
   Iowa: Chad Olson
   Michigan: Jim Eddy
   Minnesota: Jana Vanderah
   Missouri: Brice Baumgardner
   Ohio: Alicia Frey
   West Virginia: Brian Weingart
   Wisconsin: Melissa Haberman
 2014  Illinois: Amanda Fijal
   Indiana: Sue Allmon
   Iowa: Heather Gaumer
   Michigan: Lori Vedder
   Minnesota: Susan Neppl
   Missouri: Samantha Matchefts
   Ohio: Angela Johnson
   West Virginia: Sandra Oerly-Bennett
   Wisconsin: Karla Weber
 2013  Illinois: Michelle Trame
   Indiana: Virginia Washington
   Iowa: Amy Gaffney
   Michigan: Vickie Crupper
   Minnesota: David Vikander
   Missouri: Janice Barnes
   Ohio: Randy Ulses
   West Virginia: JoAnn Ross
   Wisconsin: William Henderson
 2012  Illinois: Sue Swisher
   Indiana: Heidi Carl
   Iowa: Don Duzik
   Michigan: Anne Watson
   Minnesota: Jeff Olson
   Missouri: Keith Broadus
   Ohio: Valerie Kepner
   West Virginia: Tresa Weimer
   Wisconsin: Susan Fischer
 2011  Illinois: Paula Luff
   Indiana: JoAnn Laugel
   Iowa: Joan Meyer
   Michigan: Margaret Rodriguez
   Minnesota: Dianne Danov
   Missouri: Will Shaffner
   Ohio: Ann Marie Gruber
   West Virginia: Kaye Widney
   Wisconsin: Michelle Curtis
 2010  Illinois: Dan Mann
   Indiana: Kathy Purvis
   Iowa: Lois Mulbrook
   Michigan: Rick Shipman
   Minnesota: Nichole Lien
   Missouri: Anne Fligge
   Ohio: Arman Habegger
   West Virginia: Candi Frazier
   Wisconsin: Steve Schuetz
 2009  Illinois: William Bushaw
   Indiana: Bob Zellers
   Iowa: Aaron Steffens
   Michigan: Diane Lambart Fleming
   Minnesota: Jayne Dinse
   Missouri: Jon Gruett
   Ohio: Karen Kopp
   West Virginia: Patricia King
   Wisconsin: Sue Minzlaff
 2008  Illinois: Nancy Calvert
   Indiana: Jeff Pethick
   Iowa: Roberta Johnson
   Michigan: Howard Thomas
   Minnesota: Dave Dahlen
   Missouri: Cindy Butler
   Ohio: Cheryl Willard
   West Virginia: Nina Morton
   Wisconsin: Triena Bodart
 2007  Illinois: Bruce Foote
   Indiana: Douglas Irvine
   Iowa: DeLores Hawkins
   Michigan: Keith Williams
   Minnesota: Dick Battig
   Missouri: Brad Gamble
   Ohio: Michiale Schneider
   West Virginia: James Buchanan
   Wisconsin: Debra McKinney
 2006  Illinois: Cheryl Warman
   Indiana: Marvin Smith
   Iowa: Susan Ladd
   Michigan: Judy Florian
   Minnesota: Richard Battig
   Missouri: Leo Hertling
   Ohio: Ginny Biada
   West Virginia: Karen Lay
   Wisconsin: Ernesto Monge


West Virginia Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators
                                   Glenville State University, PO Box 5, Glenville, WV  26351        

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software